Top-Ranked Vols Have Six Players Garner Sec Postseason Honors Obituary 2024

Tennessee Volunteers Garner Six SEC Postseason Honors

First and Second Team All-SEC

The Tennessee Volunteers capped off their successful 2024 Southeastern Conference regular season with four players earning first or second team All-SEC honors.

  • First Team: Christian Moore (2B), Dylan Dreiling (OF)
  • Second Team: Blake Burke (1B), Kavares Tears (OF)

With four players on the first and second teams, Tennessee had the second-most honorees of any team in the league.

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Drew Beam, a junior pitcher, was named the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Beam boasts a 3.47 GPA while majoring in finance and has been a mainstay in Tennessee’s weekend rotation.

Freshman All-SEC Team

Dean Curley, a shortstop, joined the select group of UT players to be named to the SEC All-Freshman team. Curley has led the team with nine stolen bases and ranked among the league’s top freshmen in runs, hits, doubles, home runs, RBIs, and walks.

SEC All-Defensive Team

Burke and Tears earned spots on the SEC All-Defensive Team. Burke excelled at first base with a team-leading 378 putouts and a .988 fielding percentage, while Tears posted a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage and showcased his arm strength with three outfield assists.

Complete List of Awards

For a full list of SEC postseason awards and All-SEC teams, visit: HERE.